Creativecat

life, the universe, and everything

Cupcakes! 30 June 2008

Filed under: art,culinary arts — creativecat @ 12:14 pm
Tags: ,


I have a cupcake obsession. I’m not even that crazy about eating them. I actually like looking at them more than I like eating them. Usually cake is too dry and crumbly for my tastes. And I’m very picky about frosting. Give me buttercream or give me death! Crisco is only good for making fake whipped cream or ice cream. It’s not meant to be eaten.

There are very few places that make beautiful and delicious cupcakes. Back in the Day in Savannah’s Starland District and The Cupcake Shoppe in Raleigh. Then there’s those who take that to another level. Like the girl who made knitted cupcakes. Or the perfect snack at the Vagina Monologues.

My baking skills are ok. I can make tasty confections and I can make beautiful pastries. Unfortunately, I can’t do both at once. One Christmas I made Buche de Noel with marzipan poinsettias. It was delicious but the cake looked less round and log-like and more rectangular and misshapen.

So I’ll limit my beautiful cupcakes to the illustrated variety–like these cupcakes done with watercolor and colored pencil last year when I was taking a class called Illustrating the Edible.

 

2 Responses to “Cupcakes!”

  1. Ellen Says:

    I know just what you mean: I love the idea of cupcakes a lot more than actual cupcakes. The other annoying thing about them is that they are messy to eat — you peel off the wrapper and the cake plus frosting is too big to fit in the mouth without making a mess. But they’re so cute! I wish Albany had a cupcake bakery. I wish I could open one.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.