Creativecat

life, the universe, and everything

Getting back into my art 23 November 2007

Filed under: art,design,personal — creativecat @ 10:15 am
Tags: , , ,

I’m not sure why but it feels like art school can really kill your desire to create and enjoy it. The last art exhibition I went to there was an artist whose work was finger painting. He was letting people use his studio and materials to create their own work. As I watched him and other visitors work and the main thing I thought was, “Where are your thumbnails? What about doing some value and color studies first?” I couldn’t seem to comprehend letting go and being spontaneous with art.

I’ve been out of school for more than six months and I’m just now feeling the need to make art. Since I left school, it feels like I’ve only been using my creativity at work. It’s time for me to create for me. Most of my morning has been spent sketching and working on a new portfolio site. Later this weekend I’m getting together with friends to do some collage. Hopefully, the spontaneity of art and creativity is coming back to me.

 

One Response to “Getting back into my art”

  1. Mike Says:

    Good luck I hope you get the joy out of it that you are looking for.


Leave a Reply

