Creativecat

life, the universe, and everything

No support for the troops 10 February 2008

Filed under: personal,society — creativecat @ 10:36 pm
Tags: , ,

The other night, I went to a metal show to rock out–not to get some soldiers’ rocks off. I didn’t think there would be so many army guys there since the closest base is 1 1/2 hours from here. I was wrong. For some reason, anytime I go anywhere with a lot of military guys (army especially), I get accosted.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not offended by random guys talking to me. I just don’t appreciate strangers thinking that talking to me for a half a second means I’m going to sleep with them. And usually guys who think this are in the military. Soldiers just don’t understand the word “no” unless it comes from their drill sergeant apparently.

I learned to avoid this one bar in Savannah after I told some guy no, but he didn’t listen to me. So my ex told him no. The soldier didn’t listen to him either. No, this guy in Savannah wouldn’t listen until the 6’6 300 lb dishwasher physically explained that I was not interested. Ever since then, I’ve had no understanding of the appeal of the “man in uniform.” The thought just repulses me.

At the show the other night, I’m taking a break in between sets, hanging out in the bar area, when one of the soldiers comes up to talk to me. Within 2 minutes, I find out he’s a soldier, then he tells me I can stay with him if I go to the band’s next show. Since I hoped he was joking, I laughed and let him buy me a drink before seeing the next band. I find out as soon as we get by the stage, he was definitely not joking. Apparently, saying that I would rock out with him meant that I wanted him to grind himself against me and try to force his hands down my pants. I ended up almost onstage trying to move away from him. Then suddenly, I’m free from the close to choke-hold and go over to the side to get a drink of water.

That’s when I realized he didn’t decide to let me go on his own. His friends had to physically pull him away! One of the guys who dragged the soldier off me came up to apologize and let me know he would help me again if I needed him to. Which, unfortunately, I did.

During the next break, I found out from the guy who helped me that all of them had just come back from deployment and they need to “release some steam.” Not that pent-up frustration is an excuse for his friend’s actions, but just that he wanted me to know that his friend doesn’t usually act like that. I explained that I’m not surprised because this isn’t the first time this has happened to me. I also told him that he doesn’t need to be sorry because he didn’t do anything wrong.

I really do want to go to the next show (which has national acts too!) but it’s in military-central. Although the guy who tried to protect me said he would be at the next show . . . well, I have some time to decide what I want to do that night.

 

Leave a Reply

